Committees are how we get our work done and steer our organization forward.  These include:


This group implements the adopted Strategic Conservation Plan and coordinates with MtA2C Lands Protection Committee. Activities include educating interested landowners about conservation issues and working with developers and town boards on open space projects. We also maintain up-to-date maps of Kittery, showing conservation lands and important ecological information.

Membership: Karen Young, Chair, Christine Bennett, Kalle Matso, Rob Nichols, Clayton Smith, Heather Sullivan, Peter Whitman, Michael Landgarten


New land resources cannot be protected without necessary funds for acquisition.  This group develops strategies to expand our financial capacity through fundraising and grant opportunities.

Membership: Bob Sheppard, Chair; Christine Bennett, Will Brewster, Ken Fellows, Wendy Pomeroy


A key need for any organization is to manage its financial health.  This group prepares the annual budget and manages KLT’s ongoing fiscal health and long-range sustainability.

Membership: Clayton Smith, Chair;  John Fellows, Bill MacDonald, Rob Nichols

Outreach & Communications

If you’ve attended any of our events, you may have met some of us!  We work to broaden KLT’s presence in the community through events, educational programs, and volunteer engagement. We coordinate programs with the schools to create educational experiences and opportunities to educate the next generation about the value of nature and land conservation, and to engage families through their kids.

Membership: Cyndy Pawlek, Chair; Christine Bennett, Parkie Boley, Cindy Kuliga, Wendy Pomeroy, Gale Turner


One of the organization’s responsibilities is to manage existing KLT properties. Stewardship members create boundary signage, provide annual property inspections, and work on invasives control.  They maintain regular contact with landowners on easements and coordinate relations with the Town of Kittery with respect to Seapoint Beach.

Membership: Alex Dearborn, Co-Chair, Gary Mitchell, Co-Chair;  Lauren Bizzari, Ellen Denny, John Fellows, Brett Fullerton,  Steve Hall, Bob Morrison, Steve Ostrow, Clayton Smith, Gale Turner, Dan Vellucci

%d bloggers like this: